Hip Hop 101 Category

2_THE_EAST_BLACKWDS_WEB
Saturday 02 June, 2012

TO THE EAST BLACKWARDS: X CLAN

1990. Hip Hop remembered that it could be political and we got given a Funkin’ Lesson!


EPMD_USUAL_WEB
Friday 01 June, 2012

BUSINESS AS USUAL – EPMD

“Let’s take it to the stage sucka”


DAILY_OPERATION_WEB
Wednesday 18 April, 2012

DAILY OPERATION: GANG STARR

Making amazing albums was really as a commonplace as a Daily Operation for Gang Starr and this album is no exception.


PAULS_BOUTIQUE_WEB
Wednesday 04 April, 2012

PAUL’S BOUTIQUE: BEASTIE BOYS

Probably the best of The Beastie’s ‘hip-hop’ albums…and now a clothing label that produces really ugly clothing for women.


CAN_OX_COLD_VEIN_WEB
Saturday 31 March, 2012

THE COLD VEIN: CANNIBAL OX

“I throw a sentence in the air and say “Word up”"…The album so good that they never made another.


MINSTREL_SHOW_WEB
Sunday 29 January, 2012

THE MINSTREL SHOW: LITTLE BROTHER

A hip hop concept album that will have you repeat playing like an m’er f’er.


EFIL4ZAGGIN_WEB
Thursday 26 January, 2012

EFIL4ZAGGIN: N.W.A

N.W.A’s second album was banned under The Obscene Publications Act. As an adult I can understand why.


STUNTS_BLUNTS_HIP_HOP_WEB
Wednesday 25 January, 2012

STUNTS, BLUNTS & HIP HOP: DIAMOND D

Hip Hop super producer shows that he can rap too.


THE_CACTUS_ALBUM_WEB
Tuesday 24 January, 2012

THE CACTUS ALBUM: 3RD BASS

Awesome hair-marketing and bringing DOOM to the world. What more could you want?


DONUTS_WEB
Sunday 22 January, 2012

DONUTS – J DILLA

Like hip hop? Buy this. No arguing.